The Glenmore Hotel was built by Brewers Tooth & Co in 1921 and has been an Aussie icon ever since. It is one of the last surviving pre- Harbour Bridge buildings on Cumberland Street, north of the Cahill Expressway. The site is known to have been occupied from the early years of 1800, although it is likely that, like the other ridges of The Rocks, it was occupied by the encampment of settlers in the first weeks of the arrival of the First Fleet in 1788. With its colonial old English charm and character, The Glenmore has been a popular watering hole, which has survived depressions, wars and plagues. This hidden gem in The Rocks was starting to show her age and in early 2012 it was closed for refurbishment for 9 months of loving restoration. The building itself is heritage listed for it’s traditional Rocks pub allure.